You must be wondering who Klairam is and why you should pay any attention to me and my life.

Well let me introduce myself; I am Klairam a born and raised Canadian. I am a west coast child, an sometimes I see more rain then I see my cousins although I have lived here long enough to not be bothered by it anymore. If you haven’t guessed yet I live in Surrey, Canada. I have lived here my whole life and that is a long time. My favourite colour is blue and I am a Capricorn (January 9).

My parents are immigrants from India. My mom came to Canada in 1994 and my dad came to the United States of America in 1993 but later moved to Canada to be with my mom and me. Growing up in a immigrant family for me, Punjabi was the first language I learnt. I could not speak fluent English until I was 9 years old and even then I was enrolled in a ESL program at school. For those that don’t know ESL stands for “English as a Second Language”, it basically is a class to help people that are learning English as their second language. I was in a ESL program from kindergarten to grade 5. Fitting in was hard especially when I had no idea what my teacher or fellow classmates were saying. I didn’t let that stop me, I participated to the fullest of my ability and would not be afraid to question something I didn’t know (and sometimes the questions were very stupid and kids would laugh).

I was introduced to sports at a young age and they have been a part of my life since then. Basketball and Hockey were always part of my daily routine and I also have grown fond of Rugby, Soccer, Field Hockey and Badminton. Whether I am watching it on tv or playing them in real life, I can’t imagine my life without them.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *